What’s the Event? Specialized Makeup From Your Favorite Funky Artist

If you don’t already know, then I will say it again, I work at a museum. I love my job! But my favorite thing about it is that they encourage my job-dedication-through-my-face-mantra, meaning that they love how I do my makeup for work. (They may cringe just a little during Halloween, hahaha!) They love the animal prints–especially since we are a wildlife museum! But they also love the special looks that I create to support our special events! Here are just a few:

#1: Dog Sled Race Day

016

Of course, Iditarod-themed makeup is not one that I have the chance to practice for all of the time, haha! However, I don’t think that my Siberian Husky and dog-sled are too horrible, and the kiddos seemed to love it!! The first picture is of Lollipop and I with Ghost from the Colorado Wolf Adventures!

#2: Princess Bride

For this one, I simply looked up the cover that I liked best, and tried to replicate it on my face. Yes, it was hard! There is no easy way to make legible letters on your own face using liquid eyeliner and a mirror! The only tip I would give, which may only apply to me, is to not overthink it. Another tool that I used was my silly fascination with writing upside-down and backwards!! (Thankfully for my brother, my upside-down-backwards handwriting looks like his normal handwriting, hahaha!) I never did try to flip the pics to see if it was also legible upside-down, like the actual title is…

#3: The Terminator

The Terminator was actually a super difficult movie for me to get an idea for makeup for!! I may be fairly talented, but even I can’t imagine trying to put the metal monster on my face!! Maybe I will try again, someday… So instead, I tracked down Bill Paxton’s character, and put tire tracks on my face!! This movie is still one of my all time faves, and my number one favorite love story! (Yeah, I don’t know why I am single either!)

#4: The Little Mermaid

006

007

I know that I did a specific blog for this makeup, so I won’t go into too much detail. This one, like all of the Disney Princess looks that I do, started with Google, and finding an image I want to replicate. It is very very difficult to copy an image onto a face–it is not a flat piece of paper! It is especially difficult to copy it from a mirror onto a face, but practice does make perfect!

#5: Aladdin

003

Now, the movie Aladdin has many different characters in which to choose from. Part of me wanted to stick with Jasmine, since it was a princess party. Another part of my wanted to do Aladdin, since he is the one for which the movie is named for. But there was also Abu, Iago, and Rajah…I do love the tiger print. In the end, however, I went with the real star of the show, Genie!! Most especially because Robin Williams was one of the greatest actors, comedians, and all around good person! I love him and his is a tragic loss.

#6: Frozen

005

004

I saved this one for the last of the Disney movies, because this one was definitely the most difficult to recreate. Most Disney movies are regular 2D cartoons! Frozen is not. The CG characters have more realistic features, and you cannot imagine how difficult that mouth was! But here is my facial rendition of Elsa! Not the best, but I think that that is okay!

#7: Spring Celebration–Bunny Brunch

013

This year, I got an extra treat, because I was asked last minute to be the face-painter for our spring celebration event! Of course, I put a ton of pressure on myself, haha! But I managed it! My first time ever painting someone else’s little face turned out to be a success! Every time I even tried to explain how it was my first time, the person would say, “Well you do your own makeup, right? This should be easy!” Hahaha, it was a blast! Of course, I had to make an example out of my own face, though!!

Leave a comment